FCA gets franchisee committee off the ground

By Sarah Stowe | 15 Apr 2019 View comments

Franchisees now have a direct link to the Franchise Council of Australia CEO with the launch last week of its Franchisee Advisory Committee.

The committee has been established to give franchisees a formal avenue to provide input directly to the FCA CEO on current and emerging sector policy issues.

FCA CEO Mary Aldred said the committee adds another platform for engagement with franchisees in the sector, in line with the FCA’s mission.

The FCA franchisee committee is made up of 11 franchisee members from a broad range of industry sectors and from each state. Representatives from multi-unit, single-unit and mobile unit franchisees are included in the line-up.

At its inaugural meeting the group discussed the recommendations of the parliamentary inquiry report on franchising, as well as the kind of on-the-ground business support and engagement that are of value to franchisees.

Aldred said she was very encouraged by the constructive discussion and forward-thinking input from members at the committee’s first meeting.

Expressions of interest were advertised to all FCA members, and appointments were made on a skills basis, also incorporating a geographic and sector balance.

FCA Franchisee Advisory Committee line-up

The committee comprises franchisees from across Australia including some award winners.

The following 11 are the inaugural committee members:

  1. Crystal Petzer, The Alternative Board
  2. Jane Lombard, Hire A Hubby
  3. Beverley Taylor, InXpress
  4. Rob Bruhl, Drug-Safe Workplaces
  5. Shannon Hickey, Tabcorp
  6. Peter Goulis, La Porchetta
  7. Damian Colefax, Just Cuts Franchising
  8. Tony Megalli, JAX Tyres
  9. Soon Khoo, Chatime
  10. Rajiv Rajan, The Finn Group
  11. Mike Downey, Gutter-Vac